Trying to Simplify

[Originally Published 01.27.2013]

It’s taken me a while to write and publish this post. It’s been written and deleted many times.

I was hoping to have an upbeat post with a list of my goals for this year. Sadly, this month had been a difficult month for me health-wise.

I’m still dedicated to improving my health and fitness but I’ve had to take a serious look at my goals. On a good note, I’ve been doing well nutritionally and started juicing again on a regular basis. My fitness goals are needing some revisions. While I did get a few runs and workouts in these past few weeks, I’ve had to deal with allergic reactions, high blood pressure, and the flu!

20130127-094349.jpg

So instead of big, lofty, “all or nothing” fitness goals, I’m going to be working towards small victories first. Simple, right?

This month, I saw my doctor about my high blood pressure. We adjusted my meds a bit and it looks like things are getting better… back to normal.

20130127-095150.jpg

So my simplified health & fitness goals for this year:
1. Continue my vegetarian diet & juice at least 5x a week.
2. Do something active for at least 30 minutes every day. (It does not need to be part of a workout program
3. Drink more water.
4. Get more quality sleep. (I will have a post about my recent sleep study soon)
5. Stress less. (Not sure how to quantify this one, though)

So, what goals did you make for this year/month? How are you doing so far?

Leave a Reply

