Then and Now: A reflection after teaching for 10 years

[Originally Published 06.07.2013]

This week, my school district and teachers association hosted their annual “End of the Year Celebration.” Here, they award the Teachers of the Year from each school, recognize teachers who have reached Years of Service milestones, and honor the retirees from the district. This year was my 10th year teaching.

20130607-233344.jpg

20130607-233416.jpg
The food and company were wonderful… my wife and I rarely get to dress up and go out.

20130607-233642.jpg
Throughout the evening, and even later that night, I couldn’t help but reflect on how life in and out of the classroom has changed for me in the past 10 years. Here are just a few:

Back then, my family and I lived with my parents in San Diego so I had a 2-hour commute. Now, my family and I own a townhouse about 2 miles from school.

Back then, I had fatty-liver disease and undiagnosed prediabetes. Now, my liver is normal and I have hypertension and prediabetes under control.

Back then, I was a fast food burger and soda addict. Now, I’m a vegetarian and I haven’t had a soda in 6 months.

Back then, my kids were tiny– a toddler and a newborn. Now, my kids are almost bigger than me (granted, I am short).

Back then, I used an overhead projector with wet-erase markers daily. Now, I give lessons using my computer, document camera, and LCD projector.

Will I be still be teaching 10 years from now? Who knows?!! For now, I’m going do my best wherever God has me.

How are you different from the way you were 10 years ago?

Leave a Reply

